We will be mainly targeting sturgeon and those rules are pretty clear - one single point barbless hook.
The gear rules have me a bit confused when it comes to salmon. We might throw one rod out for salmon while anchored up for sturgeon. If the sturgeon arent hungry, we may also try some back trolling for salmon.
We will be using barbless hooks, so thats covered, but Im not 100% sure on the number of hooks I can have on a lure. It looks like it depends on what Im doing AND whether or not my lure floats or if I add weight to the line.
If Im reading this correctly, if I have any weight or the lure sinks, then I can only use a single hook.
Unless Im trolling? Am I reading it correctly that I can have a lure with up to 3 hooks while trolling?
What if I have a weight in front of that lure or a sinking lure while trolling? Still up to 3 hooks?
It seems kind of odd to have different rules for trolling vrs casting or anchoring in the same water for the same fish, so that has me wondering of Im interpreting this correctly.
Pg 14:
Hook and line angling only. Barbed or
barbless hooks may be used, and a hook
may be single-point, double, or treble, but not
more than one line with up to three hooks per
angler may be used.
Pg 10:
Anti-Snagging Rule: Except when fishing with
a buoyant lure (with no weights added to the
line or lure), or trolling from a vessel or floating
device, terminal fishing gear is restricted to a
lure or bait with one single-point hook. Hooks
must measure ¾" or less from point to shank,
and must be attached to or below the lure or
bait. Weights may not be attached below or less
than 12" above the lure or bait.